What You Find Out When You Read Uni Books

So, I was reading Anthony Giddens – Sociology and I was highlighting interesting things about Gender and Sexuality when I came across this snip bit:

‘In some non-Western cultures, homosexual relations are excepted or even encouraged among certain groups. The Batak people of Northern Sumatra permit male homosexual relations before marriage.’

So, what do they do? When?

During puberty they leave their parental home and stay in a house with a dozen or so older males who engage in homosexual practices.

I don’t know why they do this ritual but you at least you could never say they were homophobic or people there experience heterosexism!

Just something I found interesting 🙂

7 thoughts on “What You Find Out When You Read Uni Books

  1. floodedroses says:

    Lol, agreed. I like reading those types of books too..Find them a bit interesting, even if I end up questioning myself… 😀

  2. Kitt Crescendo says:

    Well, look at how the Spartans lived out their youth… Back in those days it seemed it was the warriors who engaged most frequently in homosexual relations and no one thought anything of it. It was simply a fact of life. Personally, I kinda find it hot! And with how popular gay erotic romance is becoming, I know I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

