There’s No Place Like Home

… or the smell of your mother’s cooking!

Living with my girlfriend and away from home, can’t believe that I’m kinda homesick!

When your mum is waiting at the door for you, you know that you’ve been missed (and it’s only been around 3 days!) and then the comforting smell of weird, but delicious, concoctions of food that your mum has effortlessly ‘slung togethe’r, just for you. It’s just the beginning of the ‘welcome home.’

You’re back and it’s like nothing has happened. You settle back into the same routine (with an added bit of politeness instead of the ‘in a minute excuse’) Even your dad goes back to sleep – thanks alot. So, with your dad asleep you gossip with your mum and listen, with interest, to all the day-to-day rubbish that you used to ignore and get annoyed about. That’s when you realise it. The amount you take your mum for granted; she loves you unconditionally, cooks , cleans (yes nags about it but I wouldn’t want to constantly wash my dads socks and boxers!)

Even though I love my girlfriend, I still miss it back at home chatting with my mum and watching weird TV programmes like Hairy Bikers (it’s quite alright to be fair) but I guess it’s just part of moving on, something everyone has to do eventually.

Leave a Reply

